I fail at this…

Yes, it has been a minute since I have written. I have many excuses, however I will spare you. I assure you though, we are still eating yummy things. Perhaps it is because the foods have been so yummy, I have had little time to sit down and write. :-) I am just going to go with that for now. My sister in law Brandy got me Veganomicon for Christmas this year. Let. Me. Tell. You. I EFFING LOVE THIS COOK BOOK. I have made many things so far, loving too many to mention. And I have failed on more than one front, because not only have I neglected to write, I also continuously forget to take pictures. AAAAAAAAAAAAnyway. Enough apologizing :-)

I also may need to note, that due to my unhealthy obsession with my new cookbook, this blog may be taking on the appearance of a cook through thingie..which I don’t mind if you don’t <3

Some things that did not fall through the cracks recently,

Veganomicon’s Beet and Parsnip salad

  • Dressing:
  • 2 cups orange juice (recipie calls for pineapple, which I did not have)
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil (I used walnut…again…cause thats what I had)
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 clove garlic, very well minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Salad:
  • 1 poundbeets, peeled and shredded
  • 1 pound parsnips, peeled and shredded
  • 1/2 cup coarsley chopped fresh mint

Just shred the beets and parsnips in the food proscessor, and toss in vinegrette. The longer this sets the better this is, to a point. The salt will eventualy break down the vegetables making them mushy. Ick. Mine didn’t last too long in the fridge anyway, so shouldn’t be a problem.

Veganomicon’s Broiled Tofu

You are going to die when you see how easy this is.

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 T fresh lemon Juice
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 scant t olive oil.
  • 1 block extra frim tofu

Cut the tofu width wise in to 4 equal pieces. Cut each of those slices in half widthwise so you have 8 squares. Then, cut each square in half so you have 16 triangles. Dip the tofu in the marinade, place on lightly greased cookie sheet under broiler for 10 min. Remove, spoon marinade over the tofu, broil again for 3 min, repeat untill marinade is gone. THE END. omg so freaking good!

I served this all over a bed of mixed greens, with a drizzle of tahini and some peanuts.

Yesterday was my brothers birthday, so we went to my parents house for dinner and I made my very first vegan cupcakes. I was basically just playing. I used a dead simple vegan chocolate cake recipe, that was too dry in my opinion, and a easy adaptation of a traditional butter-cream frosting using Earth Balance. So, I guess what im getting at  is once again, I have no recipes for this lol.

Originaly, I had this idea for a raspberry glaze, topped with chocolate ganache. I soon realized that I didn’t have any frozen raspberries, so I just put some peanut butter, powdered sugar and water in a sauce pan untill it was thin enough to ice the cupcakes with. I melted some dark chocolate, almond milk and Earth balance to make the ganache.  Then I just swirled the two together on a few of the cupcakes. I was a little afraid, so the majority of them were a tried and true butter cream.

I have also made the cornbread from the book, which was great the first time, but a little dry. The same thing I noticed about the cupcakes. The next time I make a cake, even though it binds, rises, and has a nice crumb just like a regular cake, the moistness is kinda lacking. Today I made another cornbread and used the exact same recipe as before, and just added 1 eggs worth of Energy egg replacement. MUCH BETTER!

I swear I will try to do better! I have made so many things lately, I am sure some will be repeated and documented better!

<3

One response to “I fail at this…

  1. Hello! I just found your blog through Ameena’s site :) That tofu looks amazing- love how crisp the edges are- will definitely have to try that out! And, I love your About Me page- Very inspirational!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

