Comfort food

After feeling pretty icky last week, I’m still not feeling up to roasted broccoli, and although delicious, my little pizzas just are not cutting it. Rich filling foods are what I’m craving. I have eaten several bowls of oats and bran cooked in almond milk (my current obsession) sweetened with agave and a little cinnamon.  I love this soooo much. It is like a hug in your tummy :-).

Yesterday for dinner I made one of my freaking favorite foods ever. *I have a lot of favorites* Vegetarian chili.

1 small onion diced

3 cloves garlic

3 stalks celery diced

3 or 4 carrots diced

1 small red bell

1 1/2 c black beans

1  zucchini shredded

1 can diced tomatoes

3/4-1 c vegetable stock

1 T Adobo seasoning

1 T chili powder

1 T cumin

1/2 t Hungarian paprika

1/2 t oregano

1/2 t cayenne pepper

salt pepper to taste

Sweat out onions in 2 tbsp olive oil until translucent. Add garlic, cook 2 minutes or so. Dump the  remaining vegetables, except for the zucchini, and the spices in. Stir these all together for a little bit, then add your beans, zucchini, and stock. Cook for an hour or so on med low stirring frequently.

I usually blend about a cup or less with my immersion blender just to make it more chili like. I also like fairly thick chili, so you may need to add more stock than I did 🙂

Sometimes I add corn to this, but I didn’t this time because I made corn muffins 🙂 I couldn’t even possibly begin to try to remember how  I make these, but the next time I do I will write down what goes in >.< I have a super bad habit of messing with recipes.

Went to target and found something I have been looking for for what seems like forever. My absolute favorite tea in the whole universe (right now) Tzo Orange blossom. Omg yum!

Starbucks charges 2 something per cup  (if you are lucky enough to find it) but the whole dang box of 15 bags was only 5 dollars. Still a little pricey for my tea drinking habit, but every one is allowed an indulgence now and then, right? 🙂  Also can I just say how jealous I am of you lucky Edmondites and your awesome Target? You have everything! I have to go like 15 places just to find half of the stuff I found today. We have a Target up here but it fails super hard.

Matt is working late tonight so it is oatmeal for dinner for me! ❤ Do you see me complaining?

Leave a Reply

