Chocca-wha?

Man today has just clean worn me slick, but it was still a great day. Liam woke up quite  bit last night, and for some reason I absolutely was unable to go back to sleep all the way after 3 am. I just tossed and turned until it was time to get up. Fail!  So basically Liam and I were hobos, which is something I excel at.  This consisted of us playing with blocks, watching New Moon, and being creative in the kitchen. I was fixing my oatmeal this morning and noticed this on the side of my soy milk carton.

I … must … have. I am a little bit of a pudding whore but seriously hate the powderd kind and don’t like all the extra sugar in the snack pack kind. So basically I have done with out. But this … Oh my. Right after lunch I made some.

I wasn’t even about  to put 1/2 a cup of sugar in it though so I just added a bit of  agave, and 1.5 packets of stevia until it was sweet enough for me. Also, I am not sure why you would put butter in pudding when coconut oil is so much more yummy!  I kept forgetting to take a picture of my bowl, but I can tell you this much …..

I hated it.

Liam hates it too :-).

Happy hobo 🙂

Dinner was something I have never had before but was really fun to make. Anything that has a lot of dicing of vegetables is right up my ally. Lentil bolognaise was on the menu this evening and it was sooo yummy! This will defiantly be a repeat performer at our house. I am always trying to find new ways to fix lentils because they are so good for you, but can get boring very quickly.  I also loved how easy this recipe was, all the veggies can be prepped before hand and you can cook it just prior to serving, or you can make the whole thing and just heat it up when ready.

1tsp olive oil

3 garlic cloves minced

1 onion diced

1 shallot diced

2 stalks celery diced

1/2 bell pepper diced

1 carrot diced

1 zucchini diced

8 button mushrooms diced

1/4 c red wine

pinch dry thyme

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes strained and juice and pulp reserved separately

1 cup cooked lentils

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp sugar

whole wheat spagehtti

Brown garlic over low heat. Add all the vegetables, except the mushrooms, increase heat to medium and cook untill veggies are soft and no liquid remains. Add mushrooms.

Increase heat to high, add wine and cook about 2 min. Add thyme and juice from tomatoes, reduce by half.

Add lentils and pepper, stir in tomatoes, and cook about 3 or 4 min longer. Remove from heat, add lemon juice and sugar.  Serve over spaghetti.

Hope every one is having a great week! I’m getting in to the rest of the wine from dinner and going to bed early tonight 🙂 It’s a bath, book, tea, and wine kinda evening ❤

4 responses to “Chocca-wha?

  1. That pasta sauce looks like pure love!! I’m a huuge fan of any sauce that includes multiple veggies, not just boring old tomato sauce.

  2. Awwwwww such a cutie!
    And I’m so excited you liked the fudge babies too 🙂

Leave a Reply

