Oatmeal and Kale

I am pretty lazy in the morning. This would be fine, but I also love breakfast more than any other meal. My morning dilemma between hitting the snooze button, or a super fine breakfast is now over.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Crockpot Oats.  That is Alton Brown’s recipe, I modified it just a little. 🙂

In to the crock pot went

4 cups water

1 cup steel cut oats

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup diced dates

1/2 cup smashed almonds

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp coconut oil

peanut butter or almond butter if your awesome

Spray your pot with cooking spray, dump everything in, cover and set to low right before bed. The end.

Sort of…. The first night I made this, Liam woke up for a snack around 5:30, so I checked on it on my way back to bed. It was beginning to brown around the edges, so I turned it off and it was just perfect when we got up at 7. Some clumsy person with a voracious tendency to break things killed my crock pot lid last year so I have to make due with another, which may be the reason that mine was burning a little? Dunno. But the next time we made it I put a piece of foil under the lid to help it seal a bit better and the oatmeal was perfect.

Friday I had no desire to cook, so I made soup. I was planning on just having a very thin mostly broth soup but kept pulling stuff out of the fridge that could go in it.

Pretty good mistake 🙂 Everything I used was left over from something else.

Scrappy soup

1 carrot diced

1/2 a bell pepper

1/2 onion

2 cloves garlic

1 cup chickpeas

1 cup lentils

1 bunch kale

3 cups water

2 cups veggie broth

oregano, marjoram, all spice, paprika, salt and pepper all to taste

couple drops hot sauce

Sweat out onions and garlic, throw in the rest of the veggies and cook until just tender, add kale and wilt a bit. Add spices then the liquid. Simmer for about 20 minutes. Eat!

Kale is seriously one of my favourite vegetables. It is so versatile and so freaking good for you. It is seriously packed full of vitamins and fiber. Usually,in our house, it gets served sautéed  as a side, or in a soup.  I have seen several people talk about Kale chips, and I just had to give them a try.

Shred kale toss in olive oil and a pinch or two of kosher salt.

Spread on poor, poor baking sheet. *Must buy new one* Top with Nutritional Yeast if you want.

Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes….

Eat! These were awesome, kind of different, but totally addictive.

Back to oatmeal!

Banana Bites

2 mushy bananas

1 1/2 cup oat meal

1/4 cup flax meal

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp coconut oil (softened)

1 cup chopped dates

1 tsp cinnamon

Mush everything together in a bowl, let set for 15 minutes. Drop on to cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes.

Matt said he would have liked these better if they had been mushed down in to a more cookie shape. I will do that next time but I sorta enjoyed the slightly mushy middles. These taste just like banana bread!

If it is a couple of inches off of the ground and semi stable, Liam is trying to stand up on it. I seriously can not get over how quickly he is getting huge! Every one told me “they get big so fast” I was always highly skeptical of it….but now…geeze….He is getting too big too fast! I seriously can’t keep up! Matt has taken to cutting the feet out of his jammies just to get 3 weeks use out of them lol.

2 responses to “Oatmeal and Kale

  1. Jessica

    Yo, I am loving your blog. We are definitely trying the kale bites, and I will hunt down and find the nutritional yeast. Much love and can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

