Seitan!!!!!!!!

Yesterday, while perusing some fav blogs I came accross this recipe for Chickpea cutlets. It is from Veganomicon *which I am adding to my want list* After looking the recipe over, we went straight to the health food store to pick up some vital wheat gluten. I was so excited to make these I almost made these last night >.< When I told my dad what I planned on doing he so sagely replied…”Bull…Chickpeas don’t have cutlets.” Thanks Dad! ❤ Anyway, since we have dinner plans with friends for this evening I decided to make them for lunch 🙂

Nuggets seemed less fancy… Also, I agree with my dad…chickpeas don’t have cutlets, but chicken don’t have  nuggets either. I have, however had chickpea burgers. I told Matt to think of those instead of thinking of chicken nuggets when we ate them. I don’t believe these are supposed to replace chicken, just giving you that satisfying sink your teeth in to it feeling that I sometimes miss.

Pre baking 🙂

Edit: Let me tell you I could barely wait to eat these little guys. They smelled SO  good. I burnt my mouth on one because I ate it the second it came out of the oven.

Things I will do differently next time:

1) Make sure I am not out of bread crumbs. I didn’t realize I was out until I was assembling lol. Couple of pieces of toasted bread spun up in the food possessor worked just fine though hehe.

2) The recipe says to kneed for 3 minutes. For me, this is too long. They were a little chewier than Matt liked. I still thought they were yummy.

3) Triple the recipe…

I had doubled it and so I have like 8 in the freezer (yeay!) Get a load of the protein content in these puppies.

Bobs Red mill Vital Wheat gluten

Serving size: 0.25 cup
Amount Per Serving
Calories 120
Calories from Fat 5
Amount Per Serving and/or % Daily Value*
Total Fat 0.5g (1%)
Saturated Fat 0g (0%)
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg (0%)
Sodium 9mg (0%)
Total Carbohydrate 6g (2%)
Dietary Fiber 0g (0%)
Sugars 0g
Protein 23g

Canned Chickpeas

erving size: 0.5 cup
Amount Per Serving
Calories 120
Calories from Fat 15
Amount Per Serving and/or % Daily Value*
Total Fat 1.5g (2%)
Sodium 10mg (0%)
Potassium 250mg (7%)
Total Carbohydrate 19g (6%)
Dietary Fiber 5g (20%)
Protein 7g (14%)

So those little guys have about as much as a whole chicken breast …pretty awesome I think. Not to mention the nummy factor …

Oh what is seitan? It is basically any thing made with vital wheat gluten. Its high protein content has made it super popular in addition to tofu and tempeh in vegetarian kitchens 🙂 I also must warn you that this may have become slightly addictive. I see sausages in the not to distant future 🙂

Obligatory Liam cuteness…

Leave a Reply

