Absolutely the best breakfast ever.

So I have this big post I have been working on for a while now, but it has been a little crazy around here lately so it remains, and may continue to remain, unfinished. However, I simply could not resist sharing my most excellent breakfast. As if I don’t love quinoa enough, here is another reason to adore this most perfect of food. I have seen it eaten as a breakfast cereal, but since we usually have it with black beans and cumin at dinner it was sort of a weird idea to me. Never the less, I wanted to try it. This morning when I started to cook the quinoa, Matt said, “I’m kind of confused, were having quinoa, for breakfast?”. You bet your sweet ass!

I didn’t have any fresh berrys, so we used frozen, and I used agave and some chopped dates to sweeten it.. Also I was planning on using pumpkin seeds too, but I was hungry and forgot.

The moment of truth…*bite*….drop spoon! “Oh my god Matt eat this!” I then proceeded to chase him around the kitchen with a spoonful.

Makes 2 big bowls

1 cup quinoa

2 cups water

Toppings

rolled oats

agave, maple syrup or honey

fresh or frozen berrys

pumkpin seeds, flax, what ever you want really…

couple of table spoons soy or almond milk

Cook quinoa covered for about twenty minutes until all of the water is gone. Top with whatever you like and eat!

This has gotten my imagination going too. What about a couple tbsp coco powder and a spoon full of peanut butter… OMG yum…

Liam, Matt and I ate all of it. This is by far, without a doubt my most favourite breakfast food, oh hell any food, I have eaten in a long time.

Seriously, if you never make a thing I have talked about here, you owe it to yourself to make this yummy breakfast!

Obligatory Liam cuteness!

Make this breakfast! I mean it!

2 responses to “Absolutely the best breakfast ever.

  1. mireille merkel

    I’ve been wanting to try this,and it is a for sure thing now. Thanks for sharing, you are so awsome, and I love you and your sweet boys!! They are lucky indeed.

  2. love you too mom! ❤

Leave a Reply

