First two vegan days <3

So, after a super awful start to the day yesterday, I came home and started my vegan cleanse. Ie throwing or giving away all my dairy and cheese  (wasn’t much to begin with but still felt very cathartic) I have been in the habit of making vegan meals without any one, my self included, really realizing they were so, going from a vegetarian to a vegan really isn’t that big of a step. That is until you get to baking, which I plan to explore fully this summer 🙂 Since I have been considering veganisim as a lifestyle choice, I have been reading lots about them. Unfortunatly, most of what I have read has lead me to the assumption that the majority of vegans are pretentious jerks in a pissing contest for who can eat the most restrictive diet with an ethical argument to back it up. I’m not going to play that game. I am practicing a vegan diet for these reasons.

1) I love animals. Ask any one who knows me and they will confirm this. ❤

2) Dairy and me … not good bed fellows. I feel better when I avoid it.

3) Cheese and butter are delicious, but fattening lol… enough said.

4) Meat should be a luxury, not an industry as it has become.

That being said, I am not so naive to believe that cows have a greater purpose than being walking meat machines. So, when Matt gets back, I will buy 1 lb of grass fed humanely killed beef and make the most bitchenest burgers you have ever seen. But for now, since it is less expensive, easier and fun for me to explore I am, as of yesterday, a vegan ❤

Fair? Fair. Let’s continue 🙂

Kung pow chickpeas and broccoli

This is so easy and can be substituted with any veg you have on hand.

1 clove garlic grated or pressed

1 tsp fresh grated ginger

4 tbsp soy sauce or brag’s liquid aminos

2 tbsp agave or honey

1 tsp cornstarch

1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1 tsp toasted sesame seeds

broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, snap peas, what ever you want

1 can drained and rinsed chickpeas

2 tbsp crushed peanuts

Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a wok until almost smoking, add veg. Stir fry about 4 minutes. Meanwhile, combine all seasonings except pepper flakes and sesame seeds. Pour over veg in wok, strir fry an additional 3 – 4 minutes *unless using snow peas in which case reduce cooking time by half* remove from wok, replace with chickpeas, stir-fry aprx 2 min until heated through, add veg back, toss with peanuts, sesame seeds and red pepper flakes and serve.

Avocado Ruben *not really but … meh*

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 avocado

2 tbsp saurkraut

2 slices bread *preferably rye*

1 tsp strong mustard

Thousand Island dressing

equal parts Dijon, ketchup, and sweet relish.

Heat oil in skillet over med high heat.

Put 1000 island dressing and sourkraut on one side of the bread, on the other half put the mustard and avacado. Mush toghether, and put in skillet. Cook both sides till brown and crispy. I freaking love this sandwich…

Dinner tonight was an unintentional cinco de mayo celebration. I honestly had not made the connection until watching the news lol.

This doesn’teven constitute an ingredient list lol it was so easy.

Liam’s dinner ❤

yeah, thats a frozen margarita in a chimay glass, wanna fight about it? ❤

consider my new blender christened! ❤ I’m going to go watch Harry Potter, or read in the bathtub lol… Happy cinco de mayo!

One response to “First two vegan days <3

  1. Pingback: Yes, I am alive and we are still eating « Granola makin mommy's Blog

Leave a Reply

