Ode to sloppy joes

You know those things from your child hood that, when you come across them later, your are transported back in time for a few blissful seconds? Reviling in sunburned shoulders and scraped knees, climbing trees and putting streamers on your bike handlebars. Yeah, well I had one of those moments last night! I came across Veganomicon’s recipe for snobby joes a little while ago and have been waiting for a good time to test them out. I was watching a friends son yesterday evening and couldn’t think of a better time to try them.

Mommy cooking … I desperately need more counter space 😦

Helping mommy!

One bite, and BAM!  five years old lol!  So freaking good I can’t even tell you. LOVE THESE THINGS.

I didn’t even want the celery, I just feel strange if I can’t see something green when I eat. I probably could have been a bit more creative with a side dish but … meh…

Snobby Joes from Veganomicon

1 cup uncooked lentils

4 cups water

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced small
1 green pepper, diced small
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons oregano
1 teaspoon salt
8 oz can tomato sauce
1/4 cup tomato paste
3 tablespoons maple syrup ( I used agave)
1 tablespoon yellow mustard

4 to 6 kaiser rolls or sesame buns

Directions
Put the lentils in a small sauce pot and pour in 4 cups water. Cover and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower heat and simmer for about 20 minutes, until lentils are soft. Drain and set aside.

About 10 minutes before the lentils are done boiling, preheat a medium soup pot over medium heat. Saute the onion and pepper in the oil for about 7 minutes, until softened. Add the garlic and saute a minute more.

Add the cooked lentils, the chili powder, oregano and salt and mix. Add the tomato sauce and tomato paste. Cook for about 10 minutes. Add the maple syrup and mustard and heat through.

Turn the heat off and let sit for about 10 minutes, so that the flavors can meld.

I did not even know how much I missed sloppy joes untill I ate these! So delicious! Liam ate at least one cup of it and had more today for lunch!

Being vegan for a few weeks has been awesome, although I know that this will not be something I will maintain forever. I like sushi way way way way way WAY  too much. I miss it. Also, to be propper vegan, you are not supposed to eat honey. Now, I don’t eat much honey but it is only because I like agave better ( honey is too sweet), but the reasoning behind abstaining from it isn’t something I totally agree with. Something along the lines of bees being exploited or some such thing. Here is my problem. I kill spiders. All spiders. There is no such thing as a “good spider” to me. Hate. Lets review. Spiders = evil. 🙂 So if I wage war on spiders why should I feel sorry for bees?

Even though I will eat fish, I doubt very seriously if I will ever be as big a dairy/egg girl as I used to be. I just don’t miss it. I prefer soy or almond milk, and I don’t miss cheese. (except for Brie with apples)

Anyway, enough ranting! Going to play Oblivion! ❤ Night!

2 responses to “Ode to sloppy joes

  1. Jennifer Kutner

    Hey Sonia! Sounds interesting … one day I’ll have to try broadening my cooking horizons. Trouble is, Josh (Gnomely) never wants to eat dinner and the kids turn their noses up at pretty much everything except peanutbutter. And I also have Oblivion! Picked it up a few months ago … tried it one night and never gave it another chance. Maybe I’ll give it another look ;-).

    Jen (aka Sarducci)

    • The hardest thing about that game for me was getting used to how different the controls are compared to wow. Matt bought it for me a few years ago and, like you, I just left it after a couple of tries. I started playing it again a month or so ago and it really is fantastic. Very much like wow but with a pause button and no annoying other people to contend with ❤ As for the eating lol well, I have always thought that Gnomely could use a good kick in the ass lol. These are a good thing to try though, the flavor is very kid friendly and they are very easy to make ❤
      much love!
      sonia (etoille) *i kind of miss her sometimes lol*

Leave a Reply

