Pizza, pasta and playing

I have not been feeling terribly inspired lately with all of the insurance, fixing the roof, and trip planning stuff that has been going on lately. However, I did feel like trying something I have been thinking about for a while now, an attempt at a deep dish pizza. I usually just roll my dough out to cover poor cookie sheet so it is more like a thin crust. Now, I absolutely adore thin crust pizza, but I was really craving that crispy, almost fried texture of a good pan pizza.

I preheated the oven to 425 while I made my dough. I splurged and used half bread flour and half whole wheat. Once I had the dough mixing, I grabbed my cast iron skillet, put a couple tablespoons of olive oil in it and rubbed a garlic clove into the pan. Then, put it in the oven to heat up. I kneaded some rosemary into the dough, stretched it out and put it in the super hot skillet ( I was scared of burning my hand of, but I managed this time without incident lol). I topped it with my pizza sauce, spinach, mushrooms, onions, bell peppers and basil. It baked around 20 minutes and it was perfectly done!

The pan is so well seasoned that my pizza just fell out! I was all ready to pry it out, so this was a pleasant surprise.

I seriously wonder why I used to spend so much on delivery or frozen pizzas. With Fleischmanns Pizza Crust yeast it is beyond easy and takes 20 minutes to make and 20 minutes (or less depending on your crust) to cook. Plus, you control everything about it, so you know that it is (relatively) good for you hehe 😀

Yesterday we were very busy playing most of the day. Bubbles are awesome, just in case you were wondering 🙂 So a quick dinner was in order. Behold the awesomeness of freezer food lol.  I thawed out my last two seitan sausages and made a quick penne dish.

Not that fancy, but very very good. I finally used the rest  of my basil from the summer rolls the other day lol. I was hesitant to let Liam eat these sausages when I first made them because they are a bit spicy, but he destroys them. I guess he is like his mom and dad with an affinity for spicy stuff 😀

After dinner I turned on the sprinkler in the backyard for Rupert. Since I had mowed that afternoon during Liam’s nap, it was super grassy but that is part of the fun!

Errands and a Star Trek TNG marathon today on Syfy sooo yeah lol I will be “busy” Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

