Yes, I am alive and we are still eating

Sooooo, it’s been a minute since I’ve written anything. Not that I did not have things to write about, but running all over the place and getting used to living in a new house in a new city takes a bit of adjustment. The apartment we are staying in for a few months is  fully furnished, but still lacking some of the cooking luxuries ; more than 2 coffee cups, knives that don’t generally have a problem cutting a tomato with out smooshing it flat ; so I have had to become even more resourceful 🙂 No ironing board ? No problem! you have a towel and a table don’t you? What’s that you say? No iron? Hmmmm an empty hot pot should work just fine 🙂

I think I can count on one hand the times I have fixed meat since we have gotten here. I have made Matt burgers, shishka bobbs twice and chicken once. Other than that our meals are quite frequently a variation of this guy.

It is basically just a salad, in a skillet….. Yummier that way 😀 This one had, lets see… 1/2 of an onion, 6 big baby bella mushrooms, 1/4 bell pepper, 1/4 pint of grape tomatoes, 1/2 a head of broccoflour, as much spinach as I could fit in the skillet and some goat cheese. Sometimes I will put salsa, or quinoa, or lentils, just what ever is in the fridge.  I have even been known to make one of these for breakfast and put a couple eggs in for good measure. Love breakfast. See below 😀

As you may (or may not) know I LOVE BREAKFAST.  When we were little sometimes my dad would fix us a bowl of white rice with milk and sugar, sounds weird but is supper yummy. I had some brown rice left over one morning and was like … well what the hell. So I diced up a mango, topped it with the rice, some coconut milk and regular milk. Looooooooooooooooooove this! I am always sad when all of my mangos are gone for the week. I like them so much more now that I have learned (finally) how to properly cut one up with out losing interest in it by the time I am done.  It used to be that the mango rivlad the kiwi for my least favorite fruit, due to the effort+time = fruit yield equation. But now, the kiwi stands alone 😀

Lunch today, Avocado rubans with goat cheese. Same thing as here, but with goat cheese … obviously >.< These are WAAAAAAAY better! Crazy Sonia not eating cheese… sheer madness.

I really have not taken very many pictures of our eats so far, mostly because they have been relatively unremarkable and the light here is weird so my pictures don’t look as good as they used to. Not enough windows in the kitchen and too much fluorescent light ( hate ) However, I am going to do better even if I have to take the food outside >.<

To all my friends and family in Oklahoma, Canada and everywhere else ❤ I miss you all and love you!

Leave a Reply

