Mmmm…. bagels….

Bagels are quite possibly the most wonderful use of carbohydrates known to man. However, a truly fantastic bagel is hard to come by and there are a ridiculous amount of average and sub par ones out there to sort through.  To me there is only one type of bagel worth buying and that is an everything. But they can be so sneaky! You look at it, see all the poppy seeds, bits of onion and garlic and sunflowerseeds, then you get it home, open it up and find out its just a fancy package for a plain bagel 😦 such disappointment. This is what I was faced with the last time we went shopping. The looked like they had such potential! But, alas 😦 boring plain. Oh well, just need more stuff on it then.

I think I have said before that while we are here we are lucky enough to be getting fresh eggs from a friends parents farm! I love scrambled eggs, I just hate the idea of the chickens in their hell hole cells… But yeay! Guiltless eggs! I bought some Morning Star sausages, having read about how close to sausage tasting they were, and couldn’t get the idea of a breakfast bagel out of my head. Normally, I don’t bother with veggie pattie anything unless I make it, but having so few kitchen utensils takes it’s tole, and I am not interested in trying to Macgyver  my way in to some seitan while I am here.  Aaaany way….  LOVE THESE SAUSAGES! They fooled Matt. I made him take a bite (he was playing modern warfare and is used to me shoving food in his face without warning)

“Wait, what is this I’m eating?”

Me “Saussage!”

Matt “what, like tofu sausage?”

so cute 🙂

I have made these a few times, but I know now that I have to only have half of one in front of me or I will eat it all.  I actualy went and woke Matt up to come finish the other half of the above bagel because I kept ninjaing bites….

This one had goat cheese mmmm!

This is what my counter looks like after we go grocery shopping… I’m not even going to show you the fridge!

While we were in Canada, since we didn’t get in to cooking much, and because basically every meal consisted of meat something or other, I bought lots of like 3 bean or chickpea salads from the grocery store deli. They were so yummy and I was really feeling something on the lighter side today, so I decided to attempt a recreation.

Turned out pretty good I think!

Chicpea Salad

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1 small zuchini diced

1/2 onion diced

1/4 c cucumber diced

6 or 7 grape tomatoes quartered

parsley

dressing

3 T balsamic vinager

2 T olive oil

1/4 t red pepper flakes

1/4 t oregano

1/4 t dijon mustard

1 t agave or sugar

2 T lemon juice

salt and  pepper

In a medium sized bowl combine all the vegetables and peas.  Place all the ingredients for the dressing in a small jar with a lid and shake. Toss salad in dressing and let rest a few hours. (I was starving so I didnt wait but have since gone back for seconds and it is way better)  Top with goat cheese.

Liam is awake! ❤ Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

