Trying something new.

I have been feeling very … off lately. I can blame it entirely on the fact that my back has begun hurting pretty bad almost every day, but I think it has more to do with what I have been eating. White bread, diet soda, coffee and sugar.

Usually, I am a big multi grain or whole wheat girl, but lately I just have not cared all that much. Now that does not mean that I am indulging in wonder bread but if you see my previous post, the little carb monsters have made their way back into my life.  Bread has become almost a requirement at not just one or two but almost every meal, and some times for snacks (peanut butter and onion sandwich any one?)

The other big one is sugar. At home, before this crazy summer started, I would go through a 1 pound bag of sugar once every 3 or 4 months, and that is only if I was baking something. We used honey, agave and maple syrup for just about everything else that needed a little sweetness.  Now, I have used 3, 1 pound bags since I have been here. Granted I have made pancakes, and Liam’s cake, but a lot of it has gone in my coffee, the dressings I make, sauces for stir fry’s etc…

Coffee and diet soda are things that I had eliminated from my diet and they have made their way back in my life winding their delicious cafinated fingers around my brain when I wake up. I used to revel in tea, almost never got headaches, and had more energy. Lately, if I don’t have coffee as soon as I wake up a headache is most certainly on its way. I just hate the feeling that I NEED something.  Soda has more to do with sugar than the caffeine part I think. I used to take a sip of it and all but spit it out, or maybe dilute it with water. It just tasted soooo sickly sweet. The other day I found I drank an entire diet coke like it was nothing. I know that sounds like no big deal, but just the juxtaposition of  how I was and how I am was striking.

So, after quite a bit of research, I have decided I am not going to have any more of those things, (except on my birthday I ❤ Cake!)  Today is the third day and I am not gonna lie, the no coffee thing is killing me. I have already had 3 cups of green tea >.<  I know that the headaches will be gone in a few days and hopefully I will be back to my old self soon!

The other big change is I can finally say that I am a proper vegetarian. No fish. Yeay! It has taken me almost a year but I can finally let sushi go. I simply can not justify killing one animal for my dinner and keeping another as a pet. The hypocrisy of it is dizzying.

With all the new rules I have I am no longer going to count my calories. Baiscly anything I can eat, I can eat as much as I want. 😀 I am sure you all think I have lost it completely, but I just am trying to listen to my body and heart to find out what makes me the best wife, mommy, friend, Sonia I can be.

These are some of the pages I have found about cutting sugar out or reducing your intake.

Long term health risks of sugar, and how to live without it.

http://zenhabits.net/beat-the-sugar-habit-3-steps-to-cut-sweets-mostly-out-of-your-life/

What happens to your body when you drink a coke.

http://blisstree.com/feel/what-happens-to-your-body-if-you-drink-a-coke-right-now/

What sugar does to your brain.

http://olsonnd.com/what-sugar-does-to-your-brain/

Leave a Reply

