buh bai sugar!

So it has been 2 weeks with out white refined sugar, white bread or diet soda. How has it been? Um AMAZING! I feel like I have gotten my taste buds back. A month ago, my sweet tooth was taking on a mind of it’s own. I found Newman O’s and since the ingredients are organic,  and I can pronounce all of them, I allowed myself more than I normally would have (like 5 at a time). There was more than one treat a day, (like after every meal) and my coffee could not be too sweet. One day last week (can’t remember when exactly) I was kind of craving a cookie. Matt sugested that Liam and I share one, so I split it and ate my half. Guess what! IT WAS TOO SWEET!. One half of a cookie is all I need!

Sunday is my cheat day and I made pancakes for every one and had a few my self but I did not feel the need to drown them in syrup like I usually do. I did not even feel guilty for the pancakes I ate, because, since I made them I know exactly what went in them 🙂 When I get back home, we will still have pancake Sunday, but I will keep a batch of whole wheat and agave ones for myself in the freezer ❤

I can’t figure out if I became desensitized to sweets because I was eating more of them, or if I was eating more because I was drinking diet soda. Turns out they are both right. I heard of this study done by Purdue University that shows mice fed the artificial sweetener continued trying to achieve the caloric high that is supposed to accompany sweet treats. So,  diet drinks work against you two fold, you can eat more sweet things because your taste buds are so unbelievably deadened to sweet, and you feel the physical need for something sweet.

White bread? Just don’t eat it. All of it’s nutritional value has been bleached off of it, it has more yeast and sugar than any other type of bread (stops you up yo.), and is less filling than a good whole wheat or multi grain bread so you tend to eat more.

An unexpected benefit of the changes in my diet? I have lost another 5 lbs! Only 6 more to go! (dances around)

Mkay done with my rant for the day! So what does one eat who consumes no meat, white bread or sugar? Um all this!

Grilled tofu, with charred bell peppers and zucchini

Mixed greens with cucumbers, chickpeas, lentils, goat cheese and a citrus balsamic vinaigrette.

This is one of my newer and more successful creations. Kind of reminds me of chinese hot and sour soup. If you can boil water, you can make this soup. I really need to start measuring stuff so I am not just guessing.

Spicy shroom soup

2 cups Vegetable stock

1/2 cup (about) soy sauce

1/4 block of tofu cut into small cubes

1/2 onion

lots of mushrooms

1 inch grated or finly minced fresh ginger

1 garlic clove

1 tbsp agave

1/2 a lime

pepper and sriracha

In a medium sauce pan, add 2 tsp vegetable stock and onions. Sweat out onions until mostly translucent, add mushrooms and cook until they are starting to soften. Add garlic and ginger, sauté about 1 minute. Add remaining stock, soy sauce and agave, let simmer a few minutes. Add tofu and the lime juice.  Top with a few drizzles of sriracha or red pepper flakes. I like mine with extra lime too 😀

I can’t wait to get back home! I miss my family, my puppy, and my kitchen! Dear food processor, blender and Kitchen Aide, mommy’s coming home soon! I see chickpea nuggets and crazy amounts of smoothies in my future ❤

Leave a Reply

